This section provides information about iwi in Te Tau Ihu, the top of the South Island.

Home » My Region » Iwi

Eight iwi are tangata whenua in Te Tau Ihu:

  • Ngāti Kuia
  • Ngāti Rārua
  • Ngāti Tama ki Te Tau Ihu
  • Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui
  • Ngāti Kōata
  • Ngāti Toa Rangatira
  • Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō
  • Rangitāne o Wairau

Tasman District also covers the northern part of the Ngāi Tahu takiwā (tribal area/territory).

Statutory acknowledgements

A statutory acknowledgment is legal recognition of the particular cultural, spiritual, historical and traditional association of an iwi with an identified statutory area.

Read more about Te Tau Ihu Statutory Acknowledgements


The Māori population has increased steadily in the last ten years. As at the 2013 Census there were 3,438 Māori  in the Tasman District - a 12% increase since 2006.

Fostering Māori participation in decision-making
A brief history of tangata whenua iwi of Te Tau Ihu

Ancient pa and kainga scatter Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka-a-Māui. This page provides a brief overview of marae in our region.

Contact details for Iwi trusts and a wide range of Māori organisations. 

Websites for research as well as links to government departments and agencies.

Various iwi management plans are lodged with us to help us consider changes to resource management plans or statements.