Change 72: Moorings and Coastal Structures AND Mooring Areas Bylaw

This page contains the notified Change as well as supporting documentation, summaries of submissions received, and any decisions made for each Plan Change (as or when applicable at each stage of the process).


This Change proposes to introduce new and amend several existing objectives, policy and rules regarding the establishment, use, maintenance and removal of coastal structures in the coastal marine area.

This Change also introduces of a new method providing for moorings, within Mooring Areas, as permitted activities subject to conditions being met and the mooring owner holding a Mooring Licence issued by the Harbourmaster under a Mooring Area Bylaw. Mooring Areas are proposed for the following locations: Mapua; Motueka; Tapu Bay; Stephens Bay; Kaiteriteri; Otuwhero Inlet (Marahau); Torrent Bay; Boundary Bay; Milnthorpe; and Mangarakau.

The Bylaw proposes to introduce the mechanism by which the Mooring Areas will be managed including the allocation of space and conditions on use.

Plan Change and Bylaw Notified: 20 June 2020
Submissions (on both documents) Close: 27 July 2020


Proposed Plan Change