Land types of the Tasman District

Prepared by Landcare Research in 2012.

Report summary

Twenty-two land types have been established for the Tasman District. The key features of the land types are:

  • Geological formation;
  • Elevation;
  • Remnant native vegetation;
  • Present land use;
  • Agronomic potential;
  • Potential land use;
  • Potential impacts of land use on the landscape and environment.

Although the land types have been identified to assist in landscape appreciation and planning, they also provide an objective, physically-based subdivision of the Tasman District landscape suitable for resource monitoring, strategy planning and land resource assessment and evaluation.


 The report and an accompanying map are available as downloads: